7 seven african powers

Calling On The Seven African Powers

The phrase "Seven African Powers" is found in various religions, including Santeria, Hoodoo, Candomble, and Arara. In Spanish, the phrase translates to "Siete Potencias Africanas."

Who Are The Seven African Powers?

The seven most popular Orishas make up the Seven African Powers: Elegua, Yemaya, Oshun, Shango, Obatala, Oya, and Ogun. Often depicted with their images linked together in a chain circling an image of the crucified Jesus, these deities represent all that is sacred and powerful in Santeria.

  • Elegua opens and closes the path to mankind. He rules the crossroads that men journey across and is considered the first Orisha created. All prayers pass through Elegua before reaching any other Orisha. Pray to Elegua in matters of destiny and fate.
  • Yemaya is the Orisha of motherhood, the Queen of the Sea, and the Goddess of the New Year. She is prayed to in matters of fertility and spiritual growth. Yemaya is a source of comfort and strength in times of emotional crisis.
  • Oshun is the goddess of love and abundance. Often seen as the Aphrodite of the Orishas, Oshun is called upon for guidance in love and desire. She helps to support those who are going through a period of growth and transition.
  • Shango is the Orisha of lightning, power, sensuality, and passion. Together with Oshun, Yemaya, and Obatala, Shango is one of the four pillars of Santeria. He is widely beloved and a beacon of strength and dignity.
  • Obatala, the eldest of the Orishas, is revered as the creator of all mankind. He is called upon in times of legal strife. Known to be a fair and honest judge, Obatala provides strength to the innocent and justice to the guilty.
  • Oya, a whirlwind of fierce energy, is the Orisha of communication between the living and the dead. A favored lover of Shango, this female warrior summons tornadoes and lightning to battle her enemies.
  • Ogun, a protective father figure, is the Orisha of tools and weapons. A lover of the wilderness, Ogun offers strength and protection to those with a battle to fight.

Together, these seven Orishas represent a force that offers guidance and strength through all of life’s trials and tribulations.

When to Call on the Seven African Powers

The Seven African Powers are summoned to assist with overcoming obstacles, spiritual growth, and connecting to one’s inner power. Anyone can call upon the Seven African Powers, as they are spirit guides and everyone has access to these Orishas for their guidance.

Carry a 7 African Powers medal with you on a necklace or in a mojo bag. Place a 7 African Powers prayer card in the bag, as well as the tools of the 7 African Powers. Anoint the bag with 7 African Powers oil, or wear the oil to invoke the energy of the Orishas. Pray to a 7 African Power Orisha statue to draw strength and power from these mighty deities. Light a 7 African Powers 7 day prayer candle and recite the following prayer:

Oh, Seven African Powers, who are so close to our Divine Savior,
With great humility I kneel before thee and implore your intercession before the Great Spirit.
Hear my petition and grant me peace and prosperity.
Please remove all of the obstacles that cause me to stray from the Beauty Way.
Oh Olofi, I trust in the words “ask and you shall receive”.
Let it be so! Amen.